Irad Ortiz Jr. Wins Third Consecutive Bill Shoemaker Award

Irad Ortiz Jr., one of five jockeys to win two races during the 2020 Breeders’ Cup World Championships at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Ky., won the 18th annual Bill Shoemaker Award, given to the most outstanding jockey.

The Shoemaker Award goes to the jockey who won the most races in the 14 World Championship races this weekend with the tiebreaker being a 10-3-1 point system for second- through fourth-place finishes.

Ortiz also won the Shoemaker Award in 2018 and 2019.

In addition to his two victories, Ortiz also had a second- and third-place finish, something Joel Rosario, Florent Geroux, John Velazquez and Pierre-Charles Boudot did not.

Ortiz’s victories came on Golden Pal (Juvenile Turf Sprint) and Whitmore (Sprint). He finished second on Improbable in the Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic and third on Sharp Samurai in the Big Ass Fans Dirt Mile.

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Bill Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won 8,833 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park.

Bill Shoemaker Award winners:
2003: Alex Solis
2004: John Velazquez
2005: Garrett Gomez
2006: Frankie Dettori
2007: Garrett Gomez
2008: Garrett Gomez
2009: Julien Leparoux
2010: Garrett Gomez
2011: John Velazquez
2012: Mike Smith
2013: Mike Smith
2014: John Velazquez
2015: Ryan Moore
2016: Mike Smith
2017: Javier Castellano
2018: Irad Ortiz Jr.
2019: Irad Ortiz Jr.
2020: Irad Ortiz Jr.

The post Irad Ortiz Jr. Wins Third Consecutive Bill Shoemaker Award appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.