Winners Announced For 2021 TOBA National Awards

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association announced today winners for the 37th annual TOBA National Awards presented by Keeneland.

The TOBA National Awards were presented across two days of ceremonies. The National Awards Luncheon was held on Sept. 9 at Ashford Stud, honoring state and Canadian breeders of 2021. The National Awards Dinner was held on Sept. 10 at Keeneland honoring all award winners and emcee’ed by TVG’s Gabby Gaudet.

Godolphin was announced as the winner for 2021 National Owner of the Year, presented by 1/ST, and 2021 National Breeder of the Year.

Finalists for both categories were also honored Saturday night. National Owner of the Year finalists included: Klaravich Stables, Juddmonte, Hronis Racing and the partnership of CHC Inc. and WinStar Farm.

National Breeder of the Year finalists included: Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC and Fred W. Hertrich III & John D. Fielding.

Angie and Sabrina Moore were announced as the winner for 2021 National Small Breeder of the Year. National Small Breeder of the Year finalists that were also honored Saturday included Gail Rice and J&J Stables.

Dr. J. David Richardson was honored posthumously with the TOBA Industry Service Award. Indian Miss has been named National Broodmare of the Year. The Cot Campbell Partnership of the Year was presented to Mrs. John Magnier, Michael B. Tabor, Derrick Smith, and Westerberg.

Miles Ahead was honored as Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA. The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Argyle (Office Hours). The Robert N. Clay Award, presented by Equine Land Conservation Resource, was awarded to Charles Fenwick, Jr. which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

2021 State and Canadian Breeders of the Year, sponsored by Coolmore, included:

  • Arkansas Breeder of the Year – McDowell Farms (Bill and Mary McDowell)
  • California Breeder of the Year – Lovacres Ranch (Terry Lovingier)
  • Canada Breeder of the Year – Sam-Son Farm
  • Canada Small Breeder of the Year – Terrance Greer and Brandon Greer
  • Florida Breeder of the Year – Live Oak Stud (Charlotte C. Weber)
  • Iowa Breeder of the Year – Allen Poindexter
  • Kentucky Breeder of the Year – Godolphin
  • Louisiana Breeder of the Year – P. Dale Ladner & Brett Brinkman
  • Maryland Breeder of the Year – Robert Manfuso and Katharine Voss
  • Minnesota Breeder of the Year – Lothenbach Stables
  • New Jersey Breeder of the Year – Law Legacy Stables (Joel Weiner)
  • New Mexico Breeder of the Year – Crystal Springs (Estate of R.D. Hubbard)
  • New York Breeder of the Year – Chester Broman & Mary R. Broman
  • North Carolina Breeder of the Year – Elizabeth Muirhead
  • Oregon Breeder of the Year – Nirvana Farm (Andria Mengucci)
  • Pennsylvania Breeder of the Year – Joe-Dan Farm and George Chestnut
  • South Carolina Breeder of the Year – Franklin Smith Sr.
  • Texas Breeder of the Year – Lisa Kuhlmann
  • Virginia Breeder of the Year – Morgan’s Ford Farm (Wayne and Susie Chatfield-Taylor)
  • Washington Breeder of the Year – Rainbow Meadows Farm (Petra Lewin)

“Congratulations to all of the winners of the TOBA national and state awards,” said Dan Metzger, president of TOBA. “Keeneland provided a magnificent setting to celebrate the outstanding achievements of 2021 and we were honored to recognize all of tonight’s winners, including the amazing success of Godolphin as both National Owner and Breeder of the Year.”

TOBA National Awards sponsors included: Presenting Sponsor Keeneland, 1/ST as the Owner of the Year Presenting Sponsor, and Coolmore as the State and Canadian Breeders of the Year Presenting Sponsor. Platinum level sponsors include Jackson Family Wines and TVG. Gold level sponsors include BloodHorse, The Jockey Club, and NTRA. Silver level sponsors include Big Ass Fans, Daily Racing Form, Darley, National HBPA, Stoll Keenon Ogden, and White Birch Farm, Inc. (Peter M. Brant).

The post Winners Announced For 2021 TOBA National Awards appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.