Ten Stakes Races Highlight Fall Meet At Golden Gate Fields

The 25-day fall meet at Golden Gate Fields commences this Friday, Oct. 22, and runs through Sunday, Dec. 12. A total of ten stakes races will be offered at the upcoming 8-week meeting.

Next Saturday, the one-mile, $75,000 Pike Place Dancer for 2-year-old turf fillies kicks off the stake action. On Sunday, main-track sprinters take center stage in the feature race of the day, the $75,000 El Dorado Shooter.

The El Dorado Shooter is one of two stakes at the fall meet restricted solely for California-bred or sired runners. The other, the $75,000 Bear Fan, is slated for Saturday, Dec. 11. Both California-bred stakes will be run at six furlongs on the Tapeta main track, with the El Dorado Shooter for 3-year-olds and up and the Bear Fan for fillies and mares.

Any “older horses” (3-year-olds and upward) game to take on stakes company can enter in a pair of races in November. On Saturday, Nov. 6, the marquee event of the afternoon is the Joseph T. Grace, run at one mile and a sixteenth on turf. On Saturday, Nov. 27, the $100,000 Grade 3 Berkeley Handicap at one mile and a sixteenth on Tapeta goes as the signature race of the fall meet.

Two-year-olds will be given opportunities to shine on the Tapeta throughout the fall. The Golden Nugget, scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 3, is a six-furlong sprint. On Saturday, Dec. 4, the $75,000 Gold Rush at one mile will attract youngsters who wish to stretch out in distance. Two-year-old fillies play their hand sprinting on Friday, Nov. 26 in the $50,000 Golden Gate Debutante at six furlongs.

Other stakes on the schedule include the $50,000 Oakland for 3-year-olds and upward at six furlongs and the Miss America Stakes on Closing Day Sunday, Dec. 12 for filly and mare turf routers.

First post each live race day is 1:15 PM PT unless otherwise noted. For more information, please visit Goldengatefields.com.

GOLDEN GATE FIELDS FALL MEET STAKES SCHEDULE

  • Saturday, October 30: $75,000 Pike Place Dancer (One mile on turf for 2 YO fillies)
  • Sunday, October 31: $75,000 El Dorado Shooter (Six furlongs on Tapeta for CA bred or sired 3 YO and up)
  • Saturday, November 6: $50,000 Joseph T. Grace (One mile and a sixteenth on turf for 3 YO and up)
  • Saturday, November 13: $50,000 Golden Nugget (Six furlongs on Tapeta for 2 YO)
  • Saturday, November 20: $50,000 Oakland (Six furlongs on Tapeta for 3 YO and up)
  • Friday, November 26: $50,000 Golden Gate Debutante (Six furlongs on Tapeta for 2 YO fillies)
  • Saturday, November 27: $100,000 Grade 3 Berkeley Handicap (One mile and a sixteenth on Tapeta for 3 YO and up)
  • Saturday, December 4: $75,000 Gold Rush (One mile on Tapeta for 2 YO)
  • Saturday, December 11: $75,000 Bear Fan (Six furlongs on Tapeta for CA sired or bred fillies and mares 3 YO and up)
  • Sunday, December 12: $50,000 Miss America (One mile and a sixteenth on turf for fillies and mares 3 YO and up)

The post Ten Stakes Races Highlight Fall Meet At Golden Gate Fields appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.