Stronach 5 Returns Friday With Four Turf Races From Gulfstream, Laurel

The Stronach 5, offering a low 12-percent takeout, returns Friday with the first four races in the sequence on the turf from Gulfstream Park and Laurel Park.

The Stronach 5 kicks off at 4:12 ET with Gulfstream’s fifth races and concludes at approximately 5:45 with the third race at Golden Gate Fields.

The first leg of the Stronach 5 is a maiden special weight event at 7 ½ furlongs on Gulfstream’s turf for 2-year-old fillies. Ocean Safari, a daughter of Temple City, will break from the rail. The filly makes her second start for trainer Gilberto Zerpa after finishing third by a neck in her debut July 31. Palmach, a daughter of Violence, makes her debut for trainer Mark Casse and jockey Edwin Gonzalez. Casse will also send out Keen Contender, third in her debut Aug. 6.

The Stronach 5 heads to Laurel for the second and third legs. Laurel’s eighth race, a $48,000 allowance event at 5 ½ furlongs for 3-year-olds and up, drew a dozen including Town of Gold, who has placed first, second or third in five of six starts on the turf. Trained by Jorge Duarte Jr., Town of Gold, a son of Speightstown, was seventh at Monmouth under similar conditions last out after a six-month layoff. Prince Pere, who has placed first, second or third in four of five turf starts, goes out for Michael Merryman and jockey Sheldon Russell. Hard to Be Humble goes out first off the claim for Hugh McMahon.

Laurel’s ninth race, the third leg of the sequence, is a claiming event at 5 ½ furlongs for 3, 4, and 5-year-old maidens. Fake I D drops a bit in class for Sarah Nagle while making his fourth start. Gambling Man, a 3-year-old son of Seville, makes his debut for Aimee Hall.

Gulfstream’s seventh race, a mile turf event for 3-year-olds and up, is a competitive 10-horse field. Rocket Joe Copper, a five-time winner on the turf for Kathleen O’Connell, comes into the race off a 7-length victory over a sloppy main track. Sharm El Sheikh comes into the race off a victory over the turf for trainer Murat Sancal. Positive Phil won two consecutive races in May and June before finishing ninth in his last and being claimed by Alfredo Cazares.

The Stronach 5 concludes at Golden Gate Fields with the third race, a one-mile event for claimers 3 and up. Jonathan Wong sends out Drasario. The 4-year-old gelded son of Dragon Pulse hopes to break his maiden in his 15th start while drawing the rail.

Friday’s races and sequence

Leg One –Gulfstream Race 5: (10 entries, 7 ½ furlongs turf) 4:12 ET, 1:12 PT
Leg Two –Laurel Race 8: (12 entries, 5 ½ furlongs turf) 4:20 ET, 1:20 PT
Leg Three –Laurel Race 9: (10 entries, 5 furlongs turf) 4:53 ET, 1:53 PT
Leg Four –Gulfstream Race 7: (10 entries, 5 ½ furlongs turf) 5:16 ET, 2:16 PT
Leg Five –Golden Gate Race 3: (8 entries, 1 mile) 5:45 ET, 2:45 PT

[Story Continues Below]


Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.com, SantaAnita.com, GulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

The post Stronach 5 Returns Friday With Four Turf Races From Gulfstream, Laurel appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.