Stronach 5 Highlighted By Turf Races From Santa Anita, Gulfstream

The Stronach 5 will feature five competitive races from four tracks along with an industry-low 12-percent takeout when it begins at approximately 4:30 p.m.

Continuing to show a strong return on investment, Laurel’s eighth race begins this week’s Stronach 5, a starter allowance at 1 1/16 mile with a tepid 7-2 favorite in King Mauro trained by Michael Gorham and ridden by Sheldon Russell. The gelding looks for his third consecutive victory after beating $8,000 claimers in his last by four. Trainer John Robb saddles Belfour, 3-1, making his first start since Jan. 17 Belfour owns eight victories at Laurel and Robb has saddled 15 winners at the meet.

The ninth race at Laurel serves as the second leg of the sequence. The maiden $40,000 claimer at six furlongs is a wide-open affair with Country Life Farm’s Mosler’s Touch entering off a second-place finish last time out against similar company. Trainer Kelly Rubley sends out Likely Choice, who caught a sloppy track last out when finishing seventh. Linda Rice ships Amendment Nineteen in from Belmont for her debut.

The Stronach 5 heads west for the third and fourth legs. Santa Anita’s third race, a mile turf event for claiming fillies and mares, has a 2-1 choice in Acoustic Shadow and two horses listed at 5-2 on the morning-line in Amiko Chow and Unbreakable. Acoustic Shadow missed by a head in trying to break her maiden Jan. 15 when claimed for $45,000 by Philip D’Amato. Amiko Chow and Unbreakable finished second and third, respectively, beaten less than a length Feb. 21 against similar claiming company.

Golden Gate’s third race, the fourth leg of the sequence, features 3-year-old maiden claimers going five furlongs. Evenerevenworse is the 2-1 choice coming off a second-place finish March 5 at 5 ½ furlongs. Emperor’s Fisc (9-2) finished third in his second career start Feb. 13, a race in which the runner-up came back to win.

The Stronach 5 wraps up at Gulfstream with the 10th race, a $35,000 maiden claimer at 1 1/16 mile for 3-year-old fillies. Leading trainer Todd Pletcher sends out Zaffing, who drops a bit in company after finishing fourth on the turf Feb. 28. Short Circuit gets the rail after a third-place finish against similar company last time out. Family Time returns to the turf for trainer Dale Romans.

Friday’s races and sequence

  • Leg One – Laurel Park 8th Race: (10 entries – 1 1/16 mile) 4:30 ET, 1:30 PT
  • Leg Two – Laurel Park 9th Race: (11 entries – 6 furlongs) 5:03 ET, 2:03 PT
  • Leg Three –Santa Anita Park 3rd Race: (9 entries – 1-mile turf) 5:08 ET, 2:08 PT
  • Leg Four –Golden Gate Field 3rd Race: (10 entries – 5 furlongs) 5:29 ET, 2:29 PT
  • Leg Five –Gulfstream Park 10th Race: (10 entries – 1 1/16-mile turf) 5:54 ET, 2:54 PT

Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.com, SantaAnita.com, GulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The Stronach 5 In the Money podcast, hosted by Jonathan Kinchen and Peter Thomas Fornatale, will be posted by 2 p.m. Thursday at InTheMoneyPodcast.com and will be available on iTunes and other major podcast distributors

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

The post Stronach 5 Highlighted By Turf Races From Santa Anita, Gulfstream appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.