Quarter Horse Dates Moved From Retama To Sam Houston Due To Ongoing Repairs

The 20-day 2021 Retama Park Quarter Horse live racing season, originally scheduled to begin June 24, will now take place at Sam Houston Race Park, as approved Tuesday by the Texas Racing Commission.

The transfer of dates was deemed necessary due to damage incurred by Retama Park as a result of the winter storm that affected Texas in February. Sub-freezing temperatures for a period of five days, along with subsequent damage from broken water pipes and sprinklers, caused significant damage to the grandstand, barn area and racing office. Repairs are underway but cannot be completed prior to the upcoming live Quarter Horse racing season.

Therefore, Sam Houston Race Park will host the entire meet, beginning on Wednesday, June 23 and concluding on Saturday, Aug. 7. Post time for all dates is 6:45 pm (Central).

June (4 Days):

Wednesday, June 23; Thursday, June 24, Friday, June 25 and Wednesday, June 30

July (12 Days):

Thursday, July 1; Friday, July 2; Wednesday, July 7; Thursday, July 8; Friday, July 9; Wednesday, July 14; Thursday, July 15; Friday, July 16; Wednesday, July 28; Thursday, July 29; Friday, July 30 and Saturday, July 31

August (4 Days):

Wednesday, August 4; Thursday, August 5; Friday, August 6 and Saturday, August 7

Modifications were made to the July schedule due to live racing at Gillespie Fair Grounds on July 3 and July 17 as well as the TQHA Yearling Sale, which will take place July 23 and July 24 at the Freeman Exposition Center in San Antonio.

“Our goal was to schedule the 20 race dates to accommodate Texas horsemen who are running in Fredericksburg and those attending the annual TQHA Yearling Sale,” said Dwight Berube, Vice President and General Manager of Sam Houston Race Park. “While we recognize that change in venues will not be easy for all parties, we acted in the best interest of Texas Racing.”

Sam Houston Race Park hosted one its most successful Thoroughbred meets earlier this year and the 2021 Quarter Horse meet, which began on April 23, is also exceeding expectations with full fields, strong handle and attendance numbers.

Purse funds will be transferred from Retama Park and will be bolstered by Sam Houston Race Park with daily overnight purses at approximately $220,000 per day. The stakes schedule, highlighted by the TQHA Sale Futurity (RG2), will be announced in the near future.

Stall applications for the upcoming meet are due by Friday, May 21. The racing office is under the direction of racing secretary James Leatherman; phone (281) 807-8780 and fax (281) 890-5485.

The post Quarter Horse Dates Moved From Retama To Sam Houston Due To Ongoing Repairs appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.