NYRA Sets Stakes Schedule, Race Dates For Aqueduct Winter Meet

The New York Racing Association has announced race dates and stakes schedule for the 2019-20 winter meet at Aqueduct Racetrack in Ozone Park, N.Y. With 45 stakes races on offer, the winter meet begins Thursday, December 12, and continues through Sunday, March 29.

January will feature 17 dates with live racing generally conducted Thursday through Sunday with the exception of New Year’s Day, a Wednesday card highlighted by the $150,000 Jerome for freshly minted 3-year-olds, as part of New York’s road to the Kentucky Derby. The Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday card, marking the birthday of the late civil rights leader, is slated for Monday, January 20, and features the $100,000 Interborough for fillies and mares 4-years-old and up. There will be no live racing on Thursday, January 2, and Thursday, January 16, to accommodate the special holiday cards.

The February racing calendar will also include 17 dates with live racing generally conducted Thursday through Sunday with the exception of the special Presidents’ Day card on Monday, February 17. The graded stakes action will kick off on February 1 with the Grade 3, $250,000 Withers, the second race on New York’s road to the Kentucky Derby. There will be no live racing on Thursday, February 13, to accommodate the Presidents’ Day card.

A total of 13 racing cards are set for March, which will see live racing conducted Friday through Sunday. Saturday, March 7, will feature four stakes, including two graded. The centerpiece is another Derby prep, the Grade 3, $300,000 Gotham, that will see sophomores run at one mile at the Big A with 50-20-10-5 qualifying points up for grabs. The packed card also includes the Grade 3, $200,000 Tom Fool Handicap for 4-year-olds and up going six furlongs; the $250,000 Busher Invitational for 3-year-old fillies; and the $125,000 Stymie for 4-year-olds and up.

As previously announced, the 2019-20 winter meet stakes action kicks off with New York-bred talent competing in the New York Stallion Stakes Series. Saturday, December 14, will see 2-year-olds going seven furlongs in the $500,000 Great White Way while the 2-year-old fillies will run in the $500,000 Fifth Avenue on December 15.

The $125,000 Queens County on December 21, followed by the $100,000 Gravesend, will conclude stakes action before the Christmas break. A pair of $100,000 contests for New York-breds, featuring the Alex M. Robb on December 28 and the Bay Ridge on December 29, will close the curtain on stakes races for 2019.

On its final weekend, the 59-day winter meet will feature a stakes-laden card on New York Claiming Championship Day, Saturday, March 28 and the $100,000 East View on Sunday, March 29.

2019-20 Aqueduct Winter Meet stakes schedule
(Pending formal approval by the New York State Gaming Commission)
DATE
RACE
GRADE
PURSE
AGE
DISTANCE
Sat., Dec. 14
NYSS Great White Way
$500,000
2YO
7 Furlongs
Sun., Dec. 15
NYSS Fifth Avenue
$500,000
F2YO
7 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 21
Queens County
$125,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Dec. 22
Gravesend
$100,000
3&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Dec. 28
Alex M. Robb (NYB)
$100,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Dec. 29
Bay Ridge (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Wed., Jan. 1
Jerome
$150,000
3YO
1 Mile
Sat., Jan. 4
La Verdad (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., Jan. 11
Say Florida Sandy (NYB)
$100,000
4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sun., Jan. 12
Rego Park (NYB)
$100,000
3YO
6 ½ Furlongs
Sat., Jan. 18
Toboggan
III
$150,000
4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., Jan. 18
Franklin Square (NYB)
$100,000
F3YO
6 ½ Furlongs
Sun., Jan. 19
Ladies Handicap
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Jan. 20
Interborough
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., Jan. 25
Jazil
$100,000
4&UP
1 1/8
Sun., Jan. 26
Ruthless
$100,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs
Sat., Feb. 1
Withers
III
$250,000
3YO
1 1/8
Sun., Feb. 2
Busanda
$100,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Sat., Feb. 8
Jimmy Winkfield
$100,000
3YO
7 Furlongs
Sun., Feb. 9
Biogio’s Rose (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile
Sat., Feb. 15
Broadway (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sun., Feb. 16
Gander (NYB)
$100,000
3YO
1 Mile
Mon., Feb. 17
Hollie Hughes (NYB)
$100,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Feb. 22
Haynesfield (NYB)
$100,000
4&UP
1 Mile
Sun., Feb. 23
Maddie May (NYB)
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile
Sat., Feb. 29
$100,000
4&UP
1 5/16
Sat., Mar. 7
Gotham
III
$300,000
3YO
1 Mile
Sat., Mar. 7
Busher Invitational
$250,000
F3YO
1 Mile
Sat., Mar. 7
Tom Fool Handicap
III
$200,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 7
Stymie
$125,000
4&UP
1 Mile
Sun., Mar. 8
Heavenly Prize Invitational
$125,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile
Sat., Mar. 14
Correction
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sun., Mar. 15
Damon Runyon (NYB)
$100,000
3YO
7 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 21
Cicada
$100,000
F3YO
6 Furlongs
Sat., Mar 28
NY Claiming Championship Day
Sat., Mar. 28
Caixa Eletronica
$80,000
4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Stud Muffin
$75,000
4&UP
1 3/8
Sat., Mar. 28
Xtra Heat
$75,000
F&M 4&UP
6 ½ Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Peeping Tom
$70,000
4&UP
6 ½ Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Sis City
$60,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile
Sat., Mar. 28
More To Tell
$60,000
4&UP
1 Mile
Sat., Mar. 28
Videogenic
$55,000
F&M 4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Kelly Kip
$55,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Dads Caps
$45,000
4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., Mar. 28
Belle Gallantey
$45,000
F&M 4&UP
7 Furlongs
Sun., March 29
East View (NYB)
$100,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs

The post NYRA Sets Stakes Schedule, Race Dates For Aqueduct Winter Meet appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.