Late Nominations To 2021 Triple Crown Series Due Monday

The late nomination period for all 3-year-old Thoroughbreds to compete in the races of the 2021 Triple Crown are due by Monday with a $6,000 payment.

Late Triple Crown nominations can be made online at www.thetriplecrown.com, or by calling the Churchill Downs Racing Office at (502) 638-3825. Information regarding mailing nomination forms can be found on www.thetriplecrown.com.

The 2021 Triple Crown opens on Saturday, May 1 with the 147th running of the 1 ¼-mile Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Ky. The 146th Preakness, its 1 3/16-mile second jewel, is set for Saturday, May 15 at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md. The 153rd running of the Belmont Stakes, the series’ 1 ½-mile final leg, is scheduled for Saturday, June 5 at Belmont Park in Elmont, N.Y.

This year’s early Triple Crown nominations, which cost $600 and closed Jan. 23, attracted 326 horses.

Any horse not nominated during the early or late phases can become Triple Crown eligible through a supplemental nomination payment due at the time of entry for each Triple Crown race: Kentucky Derby ($200,000), Preakness ($100,000), and Belmont ($50,000)

Representatives of the Triple Crown host tracks include:

· Churchill Downs: Vice President of Racing and Racing Secretary Ben Huffman at (502) 638-3820 or Ben.Huffman@KyDerby.com. … Assistant Racing Secretary and Stakes Coordinator Dan Bork at (502) 638-3806 or Dan.Bork@KyDerby.com. … Racing Operations Manager Kelly Danner at (502) 638-3825 or Kelly.Danner@KyDerby.com.

· Pimlico: Racing Secretary Jillian Sofarelli at (800) 638-1859 or Jillian.Sofarelli@marylandracing.com.

· Belmont Park: Vice President of Racing Operations Martin Panza at (718) 659-4241 or mpanza@nyrainc.com. … Stakes Coordinator Andrew Byrnes at (718) 659-4217 or abyrnes@nyrainc.com.

The post Late Nominations To 2021 Triple Crown Series Due Monday appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.