Kentucky Horse Racing Commission Approves Race Dates For 2021

At its virtual board meeting on Tuesday, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission approved 2021 race dates for the state’s five Thoroughbred tracks.

Chairman Jonathan Rabinowitz made a statement acknowledging the uncertainty caused by the Kentucky Supreme Court’s Sept. 24 decision on historical horse racing, though he did not discuss any specifics: “While I cannot say too much, I do want everyone to know that if the current Supreme Court opinion is rendered final, that this commission is committed to finding a solution,” Rabinowitz said.

In addition, the KHRC tabled a discussion on whip rule penalties that had been listed on the meeting’s official agenda.

The race dates approved for 2021 are as follows:

Turfway Park

  • Jan. 1 – March 28, Thursday to Sunday (Thursdays all marked as “optional”)
  • Dec. 1 – Dec. 21, Wednesday to Sunday (Wednesdays all marked as “optional,” no racing Dec. 24 or 25)

Keeneland

  • April 1 – April 23, Wednesday to Sunday
  • Oct. 8 – Oct. 30, Wednesday to Sunday

Churchill Downs

  • April 24 – June 26, Wednesday to Sunday (Wednesdays all listed as “Optional,” except April 24)
  • Additional spring meet cards to be held on April 27 (Tuesday) and May 31 (Monday)
  • No racing May 2 (Sunday)
  • Sept. 15 – Oct. 3, Wednesday to Sunday (Wednesdays listed as “optional”)
  • Nov. 3 – Nov. 28, Wednesday to Sunday

Ellis Park

  • June 27 – Sept. 1 (all Mondays through Thursdays listed as “optional”)

Kentucky Downs

  • Sept. 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12

The post Kentucky Horse Racing Commission Approves Race Dates For 2021 appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.