Friday’s Stronach 5 Features Racing From Gulfstream, Golden Gate

Three races from Gulfstream Park and two from Golden Gate Fields, including three turf races, will highlight Friday’s Stronach 5.

The Stronach 5, with an industry-low 12-percent takeout, will begin with three consecutive races from Gulfstream before concluding with two from Golden Gate.

The sequence begins with Gulfstream’s seventh race, a starter optional claimer at six furlongs for 3-year-old fillies and a 2-1 favorite breaking from the rail in Briella, claimed two races back by trainer Kelly Breen for $50,000. Paco Lopez has the mount. Breaking alongside the favorite is Pulling Strings, who broke her maiden last time out by 6 ½ lengths for a $12,500 claiming tag. Edgard Zayas has the mount.

Gulfstream’s eight race, an allowance optional claimer for state-bred 4-year-olds and up at 1 1/16 mile on the turf, drew a field of eight with an 8-5 favorite in Kroy, a winner of $415,000 claimed last out by Carlos David. Til the End draws the rail after breaking from the 12 post last out going a mile on the turf. Saffie Joseph Jr. trains.

Gulfstream’s ninth race, the third leg of the Stronach 5, is a maiden special weight event for fillies and mares at five furlongs on the turf. The field of nine has a 2-1 favorite in Mumbai for trainer Christophe Clement and jockey Paco Lopez, who was beaten by a neck last time out under similar conditions. Trainers Ralph Nicks, Georgina Baxter and Michael McDonald all send out first-time starters.

The action heads west and Golden Gate for the final two legs of the Stronach 5. A dozen maiden claiming 3-year-old fillies go five furlongs in Race 3 at Golden Gate. It’s a wide-open affair with Winning Appeal, second in three of her last four starts, the 5-2 favorite. Blaine Wright will saddle Don’t Rub It, second or third in her last four starts.

The Stronach 5 concludes with Golden Gate’s fourth race, a claiming event for eight 3-year-olds and up at a mile on the turf. Pioneerofthestorm (5-2) and Blackout (3-1) break from posts seven and eight, respectively. Blackout has registered seven wins on the turf while Pioneerofthestorm has placed in five of eight starts on the turf. Tyler’s Tek goes back to the turf after a wide trip at 6 ½ furlongs last time out.

Friday’s races and sequence

  • Leg One – Gulfstream Park Race 7: (7 entries – 6 furlongs) 4:18ET, 1:18PT
  • Leg Two – Gulfstream Park Race 8: (9 entries – 1 1/16-mile turf) 4:50 ET, 1:50 PT
  • Leg Three –Gulfstream Park Race 9: (9 entries – 5 furlongs turf) 5:22 ET, 2:22 PT
  • Leg Four –Golden Gate Fields Race 3: (12 entries – 5 furlongs) 5:27 ET, 2:27 PT
  • Leg Five –Golden Gate Fields Race 4: (8 entries – 1-mile turf): 6 ET, 3 PT

Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.com, SantaAnita.com, GulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The Stronach 5 In the Money podcast, hosted by Jonathan Kinchen and Peter Thomas Fornatale, will be posted by 2 p.m. Thursday at InTheMoneyPodcast.com and will be available on iTunes and other major podcast distributors

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

The post Friday’s Stronach 5 Features Racing From Gulfstream, Golden Gate appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.