Friday’s Stronach 5 An All-Turf Wager Across Four Tracks

It is all about the turf in Friday’s Stronach 5, as the popular wager with an industry-low 12-percent takeout has all five races from Pimlico Race Course, Gulfstream Park, Santa Anita Park and Golden Gate Fields scheduled on the turf.

Post time for the Stronach 5 is 4:15 ET, and will begin with Pimlico’s eighth race, a 1 1/8-mile turf event for $25,000 maiden claimers.

The first leg of the sequence is a wide-open affair with a 4-1 morning-line favorite in Tipyourhattothat. A 3-year-old by Congrats, the Robert Bailes-trained gelding has three seconds and two fourths from six career starts and drops from a waiver maiden claimer. Pathway to Victory tries the turf for the first time for trainer Michael Trombetta after showing some speed on an off-track last time out. Michael Matz saddled Fog Bound, 10th in his debut April 21.

Gulfstream’s sixth race, a five-furlong, $35,000 claiming turf event for fillies and mares, is next with a 7-5 favorite Missing Link, who goes out for his fourth consecutive victory at the distance and surface for trainer David Fawkes. If the race comes off the turf, the 7-5 choice is Royal Habibi, claimed last out from Saffie Joseph Jr. by Jorge Delgado, who is 30-percent off the claim.

The Stronach 5 heads west for legs three and four. Santa Anita’s third race, a maiden special weight event for California bred or sired fillies and mares at a mile on the turf, drew a field of six and a 6-5 favorite in Sunshine Babe, coming off a second-place finish May 9 at the distance and surface. So Very Smart tries the turf for the first time in three starts after being claimed last out by Doug O’Neill, who is 20-percent off the claim.

Golden Gate’s third race serves as the fourth leg of the Stronach 5. The mile event for $20,000 maiden claimers is wide-open with Drasario (5-2), Summer Fun (3-1), Balius ($-1) Pogo (7-2) and Wild Wager (5-1) all capable of winding up in the winner’s circle.

The Stronach 5 concludes at Gulfstream with another five-furlong turf event for allowance optional claimers. The field of eight includes Halcyon Digest (5-2), steadied when finished third last time out, and Todaystheday (3-1), a winner last time out against similar.

Friday’s races and sequence

  • Leg One – Pimlico Race 8: (11 entries – 1 1/8-mile turf) 4:15 ET, 1:15 PT
  • Leg Two – Gulfstream Race 6: (8 entries – 5 furlongs turf) 4:34 ET, 1:34 PT
  • Leg Three – Santa Anita Race 3: (6 entries – 1-mile turf) 5:09 ET, 2:09 PT
  • Leg Four – Golden Gate Race 3: (8 entries – 1-mile turf) 5:28 ET, 2:28 PT
  • Leg Five – Gulfstream Race 8: (7 entries – 5 furlongs turf): 5:36 ET, 2:36 PT

Fans can watch and wager on the action at 1/ST.COM/BET as well as stream all the action in English and Spanish at LaurelPark.com, SantaAnita.com, GulfstreamPark.com, and GoldenGateFields.com.

The Stronach 5 In the Money podcast, hosted by Jonathan Kinchen and Peter Thomas Fornatale, will be posted by 2 p.m. Thursday at InTheMoneyPodcast.com and will be available on iTunes and other major podcast distributors

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

If a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

The post Friday’s Stronach 5 An All-Turf Wager Across Four Tracks appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.