Flameaway, Lone Sailor Top Dozen Entries For Saturday’s Ohio Derby

Kentucky Derby contenders Flameaway and Lone Sailor head a field of 12 entered for Saturday’s $500,000 Ohio Derby (G3) at JACK Thistledown Racino.

Now in its 84th year, the race is Ohio’s richest and only graded stakes event and launches the summer season for 3-year-olds in search of graded wins.

Trainer Mark Casse and owner John Oxley won the Ohio Derby in 2012 with Prospective and hope to repeat this year with Flameaway, already twice a graded winner and Saturday’s 5-2 morning line favorite. Flameaway won the Bourbon Stakes (G3) as a 2-year-old and collected back-to-back wins in the Kitten’s Joy Stakes and the Sam F. Davis Stakes (G3) to start his sophomore campaign. He continued on the Kentucky Derby trail with strong seconds in both the Tampa Bay Derby (G2) and the Blue Grass Stakes (G2) before finishing 13th in the Run for the Roses.  Casse knows that finish isn’t indicative of the Scat Daddy colt’s talent.

“We just threw that one out,” said Casse of the rain-soaked Kentucky Derby. “The track was bad that day. We gave him a little break after that race and he has trained really well since.

“I like his post position (2) for Saturday,” Casse continued. “I think the horse to beat is Lone Sailor. I expect my horse to be fairly close (to the lead). We could see some speed from Title Ready, Steve Asmussen’s horse, and Trigger Warning is coming in off sprints, so he could show some speed. Looks like it’ll be a very good, very competitive race.”

In his most recent work, Flameaway breezed four furlongs in :48 flat at Churchill Downs Saturday, eighth fastest of 103 moves at that distance that day.

The Ohio Derby field:

Post Horse Jockey Weight Trainer Morning Line
1 Takedown Luis H. Colon 120 Lacey Gaudet 20-1
2 Flameaway Jose Lezcano 122 Mark E. Casse 5-2
3 Lone Sailor Irad Ortiz Jr. 120 Thomas M. Amoss 3-1
4 Caloric Ricardo Mejias 120 Odin J. Londono Jr. 30-1
5 Title Ready C. J. McMahon 120 Steven M. Asmussen 10-1
6 Trigger Warning Irwin J. Rosendo 122 Mike L. Rone 12-1
7 Diamond King Frankie Pennington 122 John C. Servis 6-1
8 Machismo Kevin Radke 120 Anthony T. Quartarolo 20-1
9 O’Kratos Channing Hill 120 Darwin D. Banach 12-1
10 Core Beliefs Joseph Talamo 120 Peter Eurton 5-1
11 Dream Baby Dream Ricardo Feliciano 120 Steven M. Asmussen 15-1
12 Last Drop of Wine T. D. Houghton 120 Anthony F. Rini 30-1

The Ohio Derby will be the ninth of 10 races Saturday, with post time set for 5:10 p.m. To accommodate 10 races, first post will be moved to 1:10 p.m. instead of the usual 1:40 p.m.

The post Flameaway, Lone Sailor Top Dozen Entries For Saturday’s Ohio Derby appeared first on Horse Racing News | Paulick Report.

DYFD Winter - 300x90

Comments are closed.